Basic TaeKwon-Do Information  

TaeKwon-Do is one of the newest martial arts in the world.   It was created in the late 20th century by General Choi Hong Hi (1918-2002) from Pyongyang, North Korea, who is considered the father and inventor of TaeKwon-Do.   When asked about his name, the General discussed his family name and then stated, "My other name is TaeKwon-Do given to me by God in 1955."   General Choi Hong Hi is also the founder of the ITF.   It is with great sorrow that we mourned his passing (June 15, 2002) but we know his legacy will live on.


Many of the students in this class have had the opportunity to practice TaeKwon-Do with the General - in fact, his last International Instructor's Seminar was held right here in Colorado in April, 2002...just two months before his death.   Some students were lucky enough to have called him "friend."   One such student of the General is Grand Master Charles E. Sereff, founder and president of the USTF.   It is Grand Master Sereff who is credited with bringing the General's TaeKwon-Do to the United States.

 The literal translation of TaeKwon-Do follows:

  • Tae: Jumping, flying, to kick or smash with the foot.
  • Kwon: Fist, to punch or destry with the hand or fist.

  • Do: The art or way.
TaeKwon-Do:   The mental training and techniques of unarmed combat for self-defense as well as health.   It involves the skilled application of punches, kicks, blocks and dodges with bare hands and feet for the rapid destruction of a moving opponent or opponents.

TaeKwon-Do, as we practice it, consists of four distinct disciplines.   These are: patterns, foot and hand techniques, step-sparring, and Ho Sin Sul self defense. As a student progesses through the different belt levels, these disciplines become increasingly more challenging.   To advance to new levels of challenge, a student must demonstrate proficiency in his/her techniques at the existing level.   You can find more about our testings under Class Info.

In TaeKwon-Do, there are two belt classifications, colored belts and black belts.   Within each of these classifications, there are several levels of expertise.   Each level must be mastered before advancing to the next level.   The belt levels and their meanings follow.

White Belt

White signifies innocence as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of TaeKwon-Do.

Yellow Belt

Yellow signifies the earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as in the TaeKwon-Do foundation that is being laid.

Green Belt

Green signifies the plant's growth as the TaeKwon-Do skill begins to develop.

Blue Belt

Blue signifies the heaven toward which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in TaeKwon-Do progresses.

Red Belt

Red signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning opponents to stay away.

Black Belt       (Black belt testing check list)

Black is the opposite of white, therefore, signifying the student's maturity and proficiency in TaeKwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.

There are two classifications within each level for colored belts.   Once a student has mastered all of these, he/she becomes a black belt -- where there are nine new levels of competency. (1st through 9th degrees.)   So, as you can see, there is plenty to learn...but with a lot of hard work...and a little luck, maybe we can have one more Grand Master to call our own!

Finally, to participate in TaeKwon-Do, all students must abide by the TaeKwon-Do student oath.   Keeping one's life in step with this oath will also serve that person well.

The student oath of TaeKwon-Do
I shall observe the tenets of TaeKwon-Do.
I shall respect my instructors and seniors.
I shall never misuse TaeKwon-Do.
I shall be a champion of freedom and justice.
I shall build a more peaceful world.

The tenets of TaeKwon-Do
Indomitable Spirit

Make a free website with Yola